Aberford C of E Primary School Governing Body

We are proud to have a committed Governing Body that provides support and challenge for the school. School governors come from local communities and from all walks of life. You do not have to be a parent to be a school governor. If you would be interested in becoming a Governor, please get in contact via the school office. 


School governors are responsible for ensuring standards are raised and for the school's overall performance. The school's Instrument of Governance was made by Leeds City Council Education Authority on 1st September 2015, setting 12 governing body posts.  Foundation governors are appointed by the York Diocesan Board of Education after consultation with the Parochial Church Council of the parish in which the school is situated. Information on the role of foundation governors can be found by following the link: https://dioceseofyork.org.uk/schools-and-youth/schools-education-homepage/governors/foundation-governors/ 


The Full Governing Body meets five times a year in school and committees meet once a term. All our governors have successfully completed the DBS and section 128 checks. 

2023 - 2024

  • Emma Johnson - Chair, Foundation Governor
  • Rowena Summers - Co-Vice Chair, Co-opted Governor
  • Kat Knox-Renshaw - Co-Vice Chair, Parent Governor
  • Nicola Crossley - Headteacher
  • Jo Warner - Assistant Headteacher, Staff Governor
  • Jennifer Eastwood - Parent Governor
  • Michelle Hilton - Foundation Governor
  • Richard Cressall - Co-opted Governor
  • Karen Glynn - Co-opted Governor
  • Peter Worth - Co-opted Governor


  • Safeguarding - Emma Johnson
  • Child Protection – Emma Johnson
  • Equalities - Rowena Summers
  • SEND - Kat Knox-Renshaw
  • Pupil Premium/Sports Premium – Karen Glynn
  • Health and Safety - Karen Glynn
  • Children Looked After - Karen Glynn
  • Training Governor – Rowena Summers
  • Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) – Jenny Eastwood
  • Reading, Phonics and Literacy - Kat Knox-Renshaw
  • Attendance – Karen Glynn
  • Complaints – Rowena Summers
  • Wellbeing - Michelle Hilton


Committee Membership 2023/24


Ethos Committee

  • Emma Johnson (Chair)
  • Michelle Hilton
  • Richard Cressall
  • Rowena Summers
  • Nicola Crossley

Resources Committee

  • Karen Glynn (Chair)
  • Emma Johnson
  • Rowena Summers
  • Nicola Crossley
  • Sarah Goddard


Updated: 07/12/2023 293 KB